

Published on *American Geosciences Institute* (https://www.americangeosciences.org) Home > CMS, SME and AIPG Past President Inducted into the Mining Hall of Fame

CMS, SME and AIPG Past President Inducted into the Mining Hall of Fame

American Institute of Professional Geologists Clay Minerals Society Society for Mining, Metallurgy & Exploration Photopoff Dr. Hayden Herbert Murray

The Mining Hall of Fame announced its 2016 inductees, including Dr. Hayden Herbert Murray who will be recognized posthumously at their event in Las Vegas, NV on September 24th. Murray was a clay mineralogist with the Indiana Geological Survey in the 1950's and 1960's. He served as the President of the Clay Minerals Society from 1965-1966, the President of the Society for Mining and Metallurgy Exploration Inc. in 1988 and of the American Institute of Professional Geologists in 1991. Additionally, geologist (among many other titles) Stanley Dempsey, mining engineers William Poundstone and Robert "Bob" S. Shoemaker are also being inducted. We congratulate them all for their contributions to the geosciences and their distinguished careers.

Tags:

· geotimes, mining, clay, award, member society