

Published on *American Geosciences Institute* (https://www.americangeosciences.org) Home > Administration and Congress

Administration and Congress

Article I of the U.S. Constitution defines the legislative branch: "All legislative powers herein granted shall be vested in a Congress of the United States, which shall consist of a Senate and House of Representatives." The detailed structure of Congress was left to each chamber to develop and revise as needed over time. Here the most relevant committees, subcommittees, rules and changes within Congress for the geoscience community are described and updated.

There are several key committees in the House and Senate that handle legislation that affects the geoscience community. Below is a list of those committees, followed by more detailed information about each committee, key subcommittees, and links to the official websites.

House Committees:
• Agriculture
• Appropriations
• Education and the Workforce
• Energy and Commerce
Natural Resources
Science, Space and Technology

• Transportation and Infrastructure