

Published on *American Geosciences Institute* (https://www.americangeosciences.org)

Home > Bipartisan Bill to Create Science Laureate Position Introduced by Smith and Lofgren

Bipartisan Bill to Create Science Laureate Position Introduced by Smith and Lofgren

On May 8, 2013, Representative Lamar Smith (R-TX) and Representative Zoe Lofgren (D-CA) introduced the Science Laureates of the United States Act of 2013 (H.R. 1891). This bill would authorize the President to appoint up to three Science Laureates of the United States who would serve 1- or 2-year terms. The Science Laureate would honor scientists who have excelled in their research careers and in enhancing public interest in science. The position would be an unpaid honorary position, and the nominee would be able to continue research during this time. [Credits]