

Published on *American Geosciences Institute* (https://www.americangeosciences.org) Home > January marks the beginning of the 115th Congress

January marks the beginning of the 115th Congress

January 3, 2017

The 115th Congress was sworn in on January 3. After the inauguration of the 115th Congress, the Republican Party maintains majority over the House and Senate. Senate Democrats, at 46 members, have acquired 2 new seats; Senate Republicans still hold the majority at 52 members. There are 2 Independents in the Senate.

Mike Pence is now Senate President and Orrin Hatch is President pro tempore. Mitch McConnell is Majority Leader for the Republican Party, and Chuck Schumer is Minority Leader for the Democratic Party.

As of January 24, there are two vacancies in the House of Representatives. The House now consists of 187 Democrats and 246 Republicans, the Democratic Party have gained 5 seats.

Representative Paul Ryan (R-WI-01) was reelected as Speaker of the House, and Representative Nancy Pelosi (D-CA-12) remains minority leader.

Sources: House.gov, Senate.gov, Congress.gov