

Published on *American Geosciences Institute* (https://www.americangeosciences.org)

Home > AGI Medal in Memory of Ian Campbell for Superlative Service to the Geosciences

AGI Medal in Memory of Ian Campbell for Superlative Service to the Geosciences

Submit a Nomination:

- Submit Online
- Submit by Mail

AGI Award Guide (PDF)

Submit a Support Letter

For consideration for the 2023 Award, please submit materials by February 1, 2023. Submissions received after this date will be saved for later consideration.

The Ian Campbell Medal is given in recognition of singular performance in and contribution to the geoscience profession. Candidates are measured against the distinguished career of Ian Campbell, whose service to the profession touched virtually every facet of the geosciences. Campbell was a most uncommon man of remarkable accomplishment and widespread influence. In his career as a geoscientist, educator, administrator, and public servant, he was noted for his candor and integrity. The title of the award was changed for the 2009 award to add "for Superlative Service to the Geosciences" in order to emphasize the importance of service shown by the recipient.

The chair of the Member Society Council selects a nominating committee for the award. The committee consists of five members: current representatives to the AGI Member Society Council from the Association of American State Geologists, the Geological Society of America, and the Mineralogical Society of America; and two at-large representatives from the remaining member society representatives.

The award is limited to one per year. The recipient must be living at the time of selection. The medal is presented by the president of AGI or other citationist during the annual meeting of the Geological Society of America at the time of the presentation of the GSA medals.

Recipients

1981 Richard H. Jahns

1983 Hollis D. Hedberg

1984 Konrad B. Krauskopf

1985 Robert L. Heller

1986 William B. Heroy Jr.

1987 Charles J. Mankin Jr.

1988 John D. Haun

1989 Grover E. Murray

1990 Philip E. LaMoreaux

1991 William L. Fisher

1992 Donald C. Haney

1993 Peter T. Flawn

1994 Dallas L. Peck

1995 Gordon P. Eaton

1996 Robert R. Jordan

1997 M. Gordon (Reds) Wolman

1998 Charles G. (Chip) Groat

1999 Priscilla C. P. Grew

2000 Luna B. Leopold

2001 Kenneth N. Weaver

2002 Frank H. T. Rhodes

2003 Edward C. Roy Jr.

2004 Ernest A. Mancini

2005 Samuel S. Adams

2006 Robert D. Hatcher, Jr.

2007 Arthur A. Socolow

2008 Larry D. Woodfork

2009 Jonathan G. Price

2010 Vicki J. Cowart

2011 Harrison H. Schmitt

2012 Gordon E. Brown Jr.

2013 Peter A. Scholle

2014 James F. Davis

2015 Rodney C. Ewing

2016 Berry H. (Nick) Tew Jr.

2017 Russell G. Slayback

2018 Scott W. Tinker

2019 Barbara H. Murphy

2020 James M. Robertson

2021 Marcia K. McNutt

2022 Jean M. Bahr

2023 Vicki S. McConnell