

Published on *American Geosciences Institute* (https://www.americangeosciences.org) Home > Marcus Milling Legendary Geoscientist Medal

Marcus Milling Legendary Geoscientist Medal

Submit a Nomination:

- Submit Online
- Submit by Mail

AGI Award Guide (PDF)

Submit a Support Letter

For consideration for the 2023 Award, please submit materials by February 1, 2023. Submissions received after this date will be saved for later consideration.

The Marcus Milling Legendary Geoscientist Medal is given to a recipient with consistent contributions of high-quality scientific achievements and service to the Earth sciences having lasting, historic value; who has been recognized for accomplishments in field(s) of expertise by professional societies, universities, or other organizations; and is a senior scientist nearing completion or has completed full-time regular employment. Prior to 2007 it had been called the AGI Legendary Geoscientist Award.

Restrictions

The candidate must be living at the time of selection and, if possible, should be present for presentation of the award.

Selection

Nominations may be submitted to AGI by individuals or Member Societies. Nominations forms should include a detailed description of the candidate's achievements as well as a 50-word candidate citation. Award selections will be made by the AGI President's Selection Committee and confirmed by the AGI Executive Committee.

Presentation

Presentation of the award will be by the AGI Foundation Chair or his/her designee at an appropriate national society convention or meeting. In addition to receiving the award and citation, expenses will be covered for the awardee and spouse for reasonable travel and lodging to the place of presentation.

Recipients

1999 J. David Love

2000 Konrad B. Krauskopf

2002 Michel T. Halbouty

2004 Peter R. Vail (spring)

2004 Norman D. Newell (fall)

2005 Gerald M. Friedman

2006 Robert J. Weimer

2007 William L. Fisher

2008 W. Gary Ernst

2010 William R. Muehlberger

2011 Robert H. Dott Jr.

2012 Sven Treitel

2013 John D. Bredehoeft

2014 Robert D. Hatcher Jr.

2015 Hiroo Kanamori

2016 Ernest A. Mancini

2017 Susan W. Kieffer

2018 William A. Thomas

2019 Barbara A. Romanowicz

2020 Sharon Mosher

2021 Franklin W. Schwartz

2022 Donald I. Siegel

2023 Brian F. Atwater