

Published on *American Geosciences Institute* (https://www.americangeosciences.org) Home > Senate confirms energy nominees

Senate confirms energy nominees

December 16, 2014

On December 16, the Senate unanimously confirmed by voice vote several of President Obama's long-standing nominees for energy advisory posts in one of the final actions of the 113th Congress.

The Senate confirmed Franklin (Lynn) Orr as Under Secretary for Science and Energy within the Department of Energy (DOE). In his new capacity, Orr will focus on science and energy research and clean energy technology, and will oversee several DOE mission areas including Fossil Energy, Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy, and the Office of Science. He will also direct the majority of DOE's National Laboratories.

Other nominees approved by the Senate include Christopher Smith, who was confirmed as the Assistant Secretary for Fossil Energy at DOE, Colette Honorable, who will join the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, and John Cruden, who was confirmed as the Assistant Attorney General of Environment and Natural Resources within the Department of Justice. Sources: Department of Energy, Department of Justice, E&E News, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission