

Published on *American Geosciences Institute* (https://www.americangeosciences.org)
Home > New subcommittees announced for the House Natural Resources Committee

New subcommittees announced for the House Natural Resources Committee January 6, 2015

The newly appointed Chair of the House Natural Resources Committee, Rep. Rob Bishop (R-UT), has changed the organizational structure of the subcommittees for the 114th Congress. The structure under the previous Chair, Rep. Doc Hastings (R-WA), included subcommittees for Energy and Mineral Resources; Fisheries, Wildlife, Oceans, and Insular Affairs; Indian and Alaska Native Affairs; Public Lands and Environmental Regulation; and Water and Power.

Under Rep. Bishop's new structure, the Fisheries, Wildlife, Oceans, and Insular Affairs Subcommittee is replaced with two new subcommittees: Indian, Insular, and Alaska Native Affairs chaired by Rep. Don Young (R-AK) and the Subcommittee on Water, Power, and Oceans chaired by Rep. John Fleming (R-LA). The Public Lands and Environmental Regulations Subcommittee is renamed Federal Lands and is chaired by Rep. Tom McClintock (R-CA). In addition, Chairman Bishop added a new Oversight and Investigations Subcommittee chaired by Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-TX). The Energy and Mineral Resources Subcommittee remains unchanged and will continue to be chaired by Rep. Doug Lamborn (R-CO).

Sources: E&E News, House Natural Resources Committee