

Published on *American Geosciences Institute* (https://www.americangeosciences.org) Home > Administration announces nominations for DOE and NSF posts

Administration announces nominations for DOE and NSF posts

August 5, 2015

President Obama announced the nomination of Cherry Murray as Director of the Department of Energy's (DOE) Office of Science and Richard Buckius as Deputy Director for the National Science Foundation (NSF) on August 5. Both nominees await confirmation to their posts by the Senate.

Dr. Murray is currently a professor of technology and public policy and physics at Harvard University, and has served on the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board and the Commission to Review the Effectiveness of the National Energy Laboratories at DOE. She is a former president of the American Physical Society.

Mr. Buckius is currently Chief Operating Officer at NSF, a senior science adviser at NSF, and professor of mechanical engineering at Purdue University. He served as Assistant Director for Engineering at NSF from 2006–2008. Sources: E&E News, the White House