

March 5, 2019

Dear Senate Majority Leader McConnell and Senate Minority Leader Schumer:

On behalf of the more than 90 organizations representing scientists, engineers, and mathematicians in universities, industry, and national laboratories who support and advance the scientific research programs of the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science, we ask that you swiftly confirm Dr. Christopher Fall for the position of Director of the Office of Science.

Dr. Fall's extensive experience as Chief Scientist and Director of Research at the Department of Defense's Office of Naval Research, Assistant Director for Defense Programs at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, and most recently as Principal Deputy Director of DOE's Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (APRA-E), make him well qualified for the position.

Equally important, the Office of Science is the largest government sponsor for basic research in the physical sciences and is leading major science and technology initiatives vital to American prosperity and security, and yet the Office has not had a Senate-confirmed Director in more than two years. The Office of Science should be commended for its stewardship of major research efforts and the construction of world-leading facilities, but a Senate-confirmed Director is needed more than ever to set clear research and science infrastructure priorities at a time when the U.S. is facing major international competition from countries around the world and U.S. economic competitiveness and national security increasingly rely on innovations in science and technology.

The Office of Science is one of the lead federal science agencies advancing innovative high-risk, high reward research, including quantum science and technology, artificial intelligence and machine learning, genomics, microelectronics, and novel materials for energy and national security applications. This diverse portfolio of research supports approximately 22,000 Ph.D. scientists, engineers, graduate students, undergraduates and technical personnel at more than 300 institutions across all 50 states and the District of Columbia. The Office of Science also supports the construction and operation of the largest collection of major scientific user facilities in the world. Located at national laboratories and universities across the country, these 27 open-access facilities include particle accelerators, experimental reactors, X-ray synchrotron and free-electron laser light sources, leadership-class supercomputers and other high-precision instruments. Annually, more than 36,000 researchers from academia, industry and federal agencies use these facilities to support their pursuits in science and engineering.

The confirmation of Dr. Chris Fall cannot come at a more important time as the U.S. makes major investments in new areas of research and builds the next-generation of world-class science facilities.

Contacts:

Christopher Carter Co-chair 610-216-5656 ccc317@lehigh.edu Leland Cogliani Co-chair 202-289-7475 Leland@lewis-burke.com

The Energy Sciences Coalition (ESC) is a broad-based coalition of organizations representing scientists, engineers and mathematicians in universities, industry and national laboratories who are committed to supporting and advancing the scientific research programs of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), and in particular, the DOE Office of Science.

American Association for the Advancement of Science American Association of Physicists in Medicine American Association of Physics Teachers American Chemical Society American Crystallographic Association American Geophysical Union American Geosciences Institute American Institute of Physics American Mathematical Society American Society for Engineering Education American Society of Agronomy Acoustical Society of America (ASA) American Society of Mechanical Engineers American Society for Microbiology American Society of Plant Biologists American Vacuum Society Arizona State University Association of American Universities Association of Public and Land-grant Universities **Battelle Binghamton University Biophysical Society Boston University** Case Western Reserve University City College of CUNY **Clemson University** Coalition for Academic Scientific Computation (CASC) Consortium for Ocean Leadership Columbia University **Computing Research Association Council of Scientific Society Presidents Cornell University** Cray Inc. Crop Science Society of America **Duke University** The Ecological Society of America Federation of American Societies for **Experimental Biology** Florida State University **Fusion Power Associates General Atomics** George Mason University Georgia Institute of Technology Health Physics Society

IBM

IEEE-USA Iowa State University Jefferson Science Associates, LLC **Krell Institute** Lehigh University Massachusetts Institute of Technology Materials Research Society Michigan State University Michigan Technological University New Mexico State University New York University Northeastern University Northern Illinois University Northwestern University Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) OSA—The Optical Society Pace University Princeton University Purdue University **Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute** Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Soil Science Society of America South Dakota School of Mines Southeastern Universities Research Association Stanford University Stony Brook University **Tech-X** Corporation University of Central Florida University of Chicago University of Colorado Boulder University of Delaware University of Maryland, College Park University of Michigan University of Missouri System University of North Texas University of Pennsylvania University of Rochester University of Southern California University of Texas at Austin University of Virginia University of Wisconsin-Madison Washington State University Washington University in St. Louis West Virginia University Yale University