14 October 2016

The Honorable Paul Ryan Speaker U.S. House of Representatives H-232 US Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Harold S. Rogers Chairman U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations H-305 US Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Democratic Leader U.S. House of Representatives H-204 US Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Nita Lowey Ranking Member U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations 1016 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Representative Ryan, Pelosi, Rogers, and Lowey:

On behalf of the undersigned organizations and our tens of thousands of Earth, space, and ocean scientist members, we thank you for all of your hard work crafting the FY17 appropriations bills. We strongly encourage you to complete the FY17 appropriations this year and avoid continuing resolutions that will hinder our nation's scientific enterprise. Under a continuing resolution, agencies are unable to award new grants, plan new missions, and budget appropriately. Not only do continuing resolutions stifle American innovation and competitiveness, they also cost our federal science agencies valuable time, money, and resources.

Additionally, while we recognize the fiscal constraints facing Congress, we are concerned about the essentially flat funding of NASA, NOAA, NSF, USGS, and geoscience programs within the Department of Energy. As the appropriations process evolves, we urge you to support strong investments in these key Earth and space science agencies and avoid policy riders that deprioritize the geosciences.

Strong, robust, and predictable investment in America's scientific enterprise remains one of the surest ways to encourage economic growth, increase the safety of our nation and its citizens, and advance our understanding of the world around us. Thank you for your support for the geosciences, and we look forward to continuing to work with you to strengthen the American scientific enterprise.

Sincerely,

American Geosciences Institute
American Geophysical Union
American Institute of Professional Geologists
Consortium for Ocean Leadership
Geological Society of America
National Ground Water Association

cc: The Honorable Kevin McCarthy, House Majority Leader

The Honorable Steve Scalise, House Majority Whip

The Honorable Steny Hoyer, House Democratic Whip

The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers, House Majority Conference Chair

The Honorable James Clyburn, House Assistant Democratic Leader

The Honorable Luke Messer, House Majority Policy Committee Chair

The Honorable Xavier Becerra, House Democratic Caucus Chair

Members of the House Appropriations Committee