14 October 2016

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Majority Leader U.S. Senate 317 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Thad Cochran Chairman U.S. Senate Committee on Appropriations S-128 US Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Harry Reid Minority Leader U.S. Senate 522 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Barbara Mikulski Ranking Member U.S. Senate Committee on Appropriations S-146A US Capitol Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Senator McConnell, Reid, Cochran, and Mikulski:

On behalf of the undersigned organizations and our tens of thousands of Earth, space, and ocean scientist members, we thank you for all of your hard work crafting the FY17 appropriations bills. We strongly encourage you to complete the FY17 appropriations this year and avoid continuing resolutions that will hinder our nation's scientific enterprise. Under a continuing resolution, agencies are unable to award new grants, plan new missions, and budget appropriately. Not only do continuing resolutions stifle American innovation and competitiveness, they also cost our federal science agencies valuable time, money, and resources.

Additionally, while we recognize the fiscal constraints facing Congress, we are concerned about the essentially flat funding of NASA, NOAA, NSF, USGS, and geoscience programs within the Department of Energy. As the appropriations process evolves, we urge you to support strong investments in these key Earth and space science agencies and avoid policy riders that deprioritize the geosciences.

Strong, robust, and predictable investment in America's scientific enterprise remains one of the surest ways to encourage economic growth, increase the safety of our nation and its citizens, and advance our understanding of the world around us. Thank you for your support for the geosciences, and we look forward to continuing to work with you to strengthen the American scientific enterprise.

Sincerely,

American Geosciences Institute
American Geophysical Union
American Institute of Professional Geologists
Consortium for Ocean Leadership
Geological Society of America
National Ground Water Association

cc: The Honorable John Cornyn, Senate Majority Whip
The Honorable Dick Durbin, Senate Democratic Whip
The Honorable John Thune, Senate Majority Conference Chair
The Honorable John Barrasso, Senate Majority Policy Committee Chair
The Honorable Chuck Schumer, Senate Democratic Policy Committee Chair
The Honorable Roy Blunt, Senate Majority Conference Vice Chair
The Honorable Patty Murray, Senate Democratic Conference Secretary
Members of the Senate Appropriations Committee