Earth Science Week AAPG Student Chapters Video Contest Winner Announced

ALEXANDRIA, Va. — The American Geosciences Institute (AGI) congratulates the University of Indonesia's American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) Student Chapter as the winner of the Earth Science Week AAPG Student Chapters of the Asia Pacific Region Video Contest. The contest was developed as an extension of Earth Science Week 2021, which celebrated the theme of "Water Today and for the Future."

Rebecca L. Dodge

Dr. Rebecca L. Dodge, Professor Emeritus at Midwestern State University, is the 2020 recipient of the William B. Heroy Jr. Award for Distinguished Service to AGI. Dr. Dodge has longstanding environmental and educational ties to AGI and also co-authored one of AGI’s Environmental Awareness Series publications. In addition, she has been a member of AGI’s former Environment Geoscience Advisory Committee, where she represented the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG).


Dr. Dodge specializes in the application of satellite imagery for resource exploration and for monitoring the effects of landcover change on Earth systems. This expertise made her an excellent lead author, with co-author Russell G. Congalton, of AGI's 2013 Environmental Awareness Series publication, Meeting Environmental Challenges with Remote Sensing Imagery. This graphics-intensive publication gave more than 20 examples of how remote sensing helped provide answers for a range of problems, such as assessments of hurricane damage or urban heat island effects.


Over the past several years Dr. Dodge also has contributed to AGI’s education mission through her co-teaching with AGI staff member Mark Carpenter of an online professional development course in Earth and Space Science. She designed this online course to address the needs of secondary science teachers who are asked to teach Earth science courses but who may have previous training only in other disciplines. To date, more than 150 teachers have benefited from this course.


Dr. Dodge earned her bachelor of science degree in geology from the University of Texas at Arlington and her master's and Ph.D. in geology from the Colorado School of Mines. In addition, she was honored by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists in 2016 with an Honorary Member Award, reflecting more than 25 years of service to the petroleum industry in committee memberships and service as an officer in several geologic societies.

AGI Affiliation: 

William B. Heroy Jr. Award for Distinguished Service to AGI, 2020

Paul Weimer

Paul Weimer holds the Paul Rady Chair in the Department of Geological Sciences at the University of Colorado Boulder. In his career, he has researched the evolution of sedimentary basins, including stratigraphy, sedimentology, structure, tectonics, and fluid movement, with emphasis on deepwater continental margins. He has published extensively on these topics, having written three books, more than 170 papers, and co-edited 11 volumes. His recent efforts have focused on creating high resolution, scientifically accurate geo-animations for K-12 Education and Public outreach. He has served extensively with many local and international geosocieties, with emphasis on integration of disciplines and inter-society cooperation including SEG, SEPM, EAGE, and is Former President of AAPG. He has major efforts in professional continuing education, having taught publicly available short courses in 35 countries and consulted extensively globally. He holds a BA (Pomona College), MS (University of Colorado), and PhD (University of Texas at Austin).

AGI Affiliation: 

Past President (2021-22)

AAPG Names Denise Cox as President-Elect

Photo of Denise Cox
Beginning July 1, 2017 Denise Cox, Past-President of the Association for Women Geoscientists, will start her tenure as the President-Elect of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG). Cox is the President of Storm Energy and has been a member of AAPG since 1984. Charles Sternbach will assume his role as president that day as well.

Hendratta Ali Recognized as the Inspirational Geoscience Educator Award #ACE2017 #geoscience


Subscribe to RSS - aapg