James M. Robertson

Dr. James M. Robertson, recently retired State Geologist and Director of the Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey, has been named the 2020 recipient of the AGI Medal in Memory of Ian Campbell for Superlative Service to the Geosciences, AGI's highest award. Dr. Robertson has provided outstanding service to the geoscience community in a variety of ways. Most notably, he was a long-time director of the Wisconsin Geological and Natural History Survey. A highlight of Dr. Robertson’s tenure there was the acquisition and development of Wisconsin’s repository for core and geological samples, the Mount Horeb Research and Education Center. Today this repository boasts over 660,000 feet of rock core, thousands of well-cutting sets, and irreplaceable hand samples in a well-organized and accessible modern facility near Madison, Wisconsin.


Before that, Dr. Robertson served in various roles at New Mexico Bureau of Mines and Mineral Resources, including Associate Director, Acting Deputy Director, Senior Economic Geologist, and Mining Geologist. He focused on New Mexico’s Precambrian geology and mineral resources with emphasis on recognizing, organizing, and defining a state-wide chronologic and geologic framework for Precambrian rocks. In prior years, Dr. Roberson worked as a geologist at Hudson’s Bay Oil & Gas Co. Ltd. (1974) and taught as a visiting assistant professor at Michigan Technological University (1972-1973). He earned his bachelor’s degree in geology from Carleton College in 1965, his master’s in geology from the University of Michigan in 1968, and his Ph.D. in economic geology from the University of Michigan in 1972.


Dr. Robertson held leadership roles at the Association of American State Geologists (AASG) including that of President in 1999-2000, and he played an integral role on the AASG Federal Liaison Committee. He also held leadership roles at AGI, serving as Treasurer (2009-2011), Finance Committee Chair (2011-2013), and as a long-time chair of the Government Affairs Committee. Dr. Robertson has strong ties to the Geological Society of America (GSA), having been a Geology and Public Policy Committee member for over 30 years and having become a GSA fellow in 1997. He also has been active within the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine, Board on Earth Sciences and Resources; the New Mexico Geological Society; the Society of Economic Geologists; the American Institute of Professional Geologists; and a number of national and state boards, councils, and committees.

AGI Affiliation: 

AGI Medal in Memory of Ian Campbell for Superlative Service to the Geosciences, 2020

Nancy J. House

Nancy J. House has served as principal scientist in geophysics at her own corporation, Integrated Geophysical Interpretation since 2015. As an interpretation geophysicist with 35 years of experience with multinational oil companies and small independents including Exxon, Phillips Petroleum, Mobil, and Chevron, House has knowledgably acquired, processed, and interpreted geophysical data for reservoir characterization, reserve calculation, and exploration evaluation.She has served as Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG) President, SEG Secretary-Treasurer, and General Chair of the SEG Annual Meeting, as well as Denver Geophysical President and Association of Women Geoscientists Board Member. House holds a Masters in Geophysics from the Colorado School of Mines, where she was a PhD student 2000-2003.

AGI Affiliation: 


Paul Weimer

Paul Weimer holds the Paul Rady Chair in the Department of Geological Sciences at the University of Colorado Boulder. In his career, he has researched the evolution of sedimentary basins, including stratigraphy, sedimentology, structure, tectonics, and fluid movement, with emphasis on deepwater continental margins. He has published extensively on these topics, having written three books, more than 170 papers, and co-edited 11 volumes. His recent efforts have focused on creating high resolution, scientifically accurate geo-animations for K-12 Education and Public outreach. He has served extensively with many local and international geosocieties, with emphasis on integration of disciplines and inter-society cooperation including SEG, SEPM, EAGE, and is Former President of AAPG. He has major efforts in professional continuing education, having taught publicly available short courses in 35 countries and consulted extensively globally. He holds a BA (Pomona College), MS (University of Colorado), and PhD (University of Texas at Austin).

AGI Affiliation: 


Dr.Sven Treitel to Receive the AGI Marcus Milling Legendary Geoscientist Medal

Dr. Sven Treitel has been named the 2012 recipient of the Marcus Milling Legendary Geoscientist Medal. David Monk, President Elect for the Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG), will accept this prestigious award on behalf of Treitel as part of the awards ceremony at the American Association of Petroleum Geologists Annual Meeting in Long Beach, California on April 22.
Subscribe to RSS - seg