AGI Medal in Memory of Ian Campbell for Superlative Service to the Geosciences

PDF versionPDF version

Submit  a Nomination:

AGI Award Guide (PDF)
Submit a Support Letter

For consideration for the 2023 Award, please submit materials by February 1, 2023. Submissions received after this date will be saved for later consideration.

The Ian Campbell Medal is given in recognition of singular performance in and contribution to the geoscience profession. Candidates are measured against the distinguished career of Ian Campbell, whose service to the profession touched virtually every facet of the geosciences. Campbell was a most uncommon man of remarkable accomplishment and widespread influence. In his career as a geoscientist, educator, administrator, and public servant, he was noted for his candor and integrity. The title of the award was changed for the 2009 award to add "for Superlative Service to the Geosciences" in order to emphasize the importance of service shown by the recipient.

The chair of the Member Society Council selects a nominating committee for the award. The committee consists of five members: current representatives to the AGI Member Society Council from the Association of American State Geologists, the Geological Society of America, and the Mineralogical Society of America; and two at-large representatives from the remaining member society representatives.

The award is limited to one per year. The recipient must be living at the time of selection. The medal is presented by the president of AGI or other citationist during the annual meeting of the Geological Society of America at the time of the presentation of the GSA medals.


1981 Richard H. Jahns
1983 Hollis D. Hedberg
1984 Konrad B. Krauskopf
1985 Robert L. Heller
1986 William B. Heroy Jr.
1987 Charles J. Mankin Jr.
1988 John D. Haun
1989 Grover E. Murray
1990 Philip E. LaMoreaux
1991 William L. Fisher
1992 Donald C. Haney
1993 Peter T. Flawn
1994 Dallas L. Peck
1995 Gordon P. Eaton
1996 Robert R. Jordan
1997 M. Gordon (Reds) Wolman
1998 Charles G. (Chip) Groat
1999 Priscilla C. P. Grew
2000 Luna B. Leopold
2001 Kenneth N. Weaver
2002 Frank H. T. Rhodes
2003 Edward C. Roy Jr.
2004 Ernest A. Mancini
2005 Samuel S. Adams
2006 Robert D. Hatcher, Jr.
2007 Arthur A. Socolow
2008 Larry D. Woodfork
2009 Jonathan G. Price
2010 Vicki J. Cowart
2011 Harrison H. Schmitt
2012 Gordon E. Brown Jr.
2013 Peter A. Scholle
2014 James F. Davis
2015 Rodney C. Ewing
2016 Berry H. (Nick) Tew Jr.
2017 Russell G. Slayback
2018 Scott W. Tinker
2019 Barbara H. Murphy
2020 James M. Robertson
2021 Marcia K. McNutt
2022 Jean M. Bahr
2023 Vicki S. McConnell