This Medal, initially named the Legendary Geoscientist Award, was established in 1999, by AGI and the AGI Foundation. It was subsequently renamed in 2006 to honor Marcus Milling, an individual who made significant contributions to AGI during his 14-year tenure as the Institute's Executive Director (1992-2006), directing the Institute’s affairs so AGI achieved financial stability and substantial growth. This award is given periodically to a geoscientist who has a long history of sustained scientific achievement and exceptional service to the geoscience profession.

Deadline: February 1, 2024



The award is limited to one per year. The candidate must be living at the time of selection and, if at all possible, should be present to receive the medal. Awards are not required annually but will be made as worthy participants are identified. No more than one award is usually given each year.

Guidelines for Consideration of Candidates

Recipient must be (1) consistent contributor of high-quality scientific achievements and service to the Earth sciences having lasting, historic value, (2) recognized previously for accomplishments in field(s) of expertise by professional societies, universities, or other organizations, (3) a senior scientist nearing completion or has completed full-time regular employment, and (4) living at time of selection and expected to personally accept the award.

Nomination Procedure

Selection Procedure and Criteria

Nomination forms may be submitted to AGI by individuals or Member Societies. Nominations should include a detailed description of the candidate’s achievements and 50-word candidate citation. The determination will be made by a special five-person Marcus Milling Legendary Geoscientist Medal (MMLGM) Nominating Committee consisting of the Chair and Vice Chair of the AGI Foundation and AGI’s current President, President Elect, and Past President. The AGI President will chair the Nominating Committee. Once the Nominating Committee determines its final candidate, their selection needs to be confirmed by the AGI Board of Directors in order to become official.

Description of the Medal

The award will be a 3.5" bronze medal. The obverse side bears a likeness of Marcus Milling with the words “Marcus Milling / AGI Legendary Geoscientist.” The medal will have a ribbon attached for hanging around the neck of the recipient and displayed in a wooden box with a brass plate engraved with the name of the recipient and the year of the award. The person or organization successfully nominating a candidate is asked to help draft the announcement of the award and provide citation.

Presention of the Medal

Presentation of the award will be by the AGI Foundation Chair or his/her designee at an appropriate national society convention or meeting. In 2011 AAPG agreed to presentation of this award at their Presidential Awards ceremony in conjunction with their annual meeting.


  • 1999 J. David Love
  • 2000 Konrad B. Krauskopf
  • 2002 Michel T. Halbouty
  • 2004 Peter R. Vail (spring)
  • 2004 Norman D. Newell (fall)
  • 2005 Gerald M. Friedman
  • 2006 Robert J. Weimer
  • 2007 William L. Fisher
  • 2008 W. Gary Ernst
  • 2010 William R. Muehlberger
  • 2011 Robert H. Dott Jr.
  • 2012 Sven Treitel
  • 2013 John D. Bredehoeft
  • 2014 Robert D. Hatcher Jr.
  • 2015 Hiroo Kanamori
  • 2016 Ernest A. Mancini
  • 2017 Susan W. Kieffer
  • 2018 William A. Thomas
  • 2019 Barbara A. Romanowicz
  • 2020 Sharon Mosher
  • 2021 Franklin W. Schwartz
  • 2022 Donald I. Siegel
  • 2023 Brian F. Atwater