Advisory Committees

Critical Issues Advisory Committee

Jana Davis, Chair
Executive Director, Chesapeake Bay Trust
American Geophysical Union (AGU) Member Society Representative

Member Society Representatives
Gail Ashley - Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM) - Professor, Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences, Rutgers University
Karen Berry - Association of American State Geologists (AASG) - State Geologist/Director, Colorado Geological Survey
Don Clarke - American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) - Geological consultant, Los Angeles, CA
Kerry Klein - Freelance journalist
Darrel Schmitz - Association of Environmental and Engineering Geologists (AEG) - Professor, Department of Geosciences, Mississippi State University
David Szymanski - Geological Society of America (GSA) - Associate Professor, Natural and Applied Sciences, Bentley College
Richard O'Grady (ex-officio member) - American Institute of Biological Sciences - Executive Director, American Institute of Biological Sciences


Geoscience Policy Advisory Committee

George Hornberger, Chair
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Vanderbilt University

Member Society Representatives
Paul Britt-
 American Association of Petroleum Geologists
Alternate: Laura Cutright Zahm
Marianne Guffanti - American Geophysical Union
Alternate: Elizabeth Landau

Bill Siok - American Institute of Professional Geologists
Alternate: Barbara Murphy

Peter Smeallie - American Rock Mechanics Association
Adrienne Froelich Sponberg - American Society of Limnology and Oceanography
Blair Schneider - Association for Women Geoscientists
Alternate: Lina Ma

John A. Wertman - Association of American Geographers
Laurence R. Becker - Association of American State Geologists
John R. Keith - Association of Earth Science Editors
Marijane Jones - Association of Environmental & Engineering Geologists
Blair Jones - The Clay Minerals Society
Robin Howard - Council on Undergraduate Research, Geosciences Division
Jared Abraham - Environmental and Engineering Geophysical Society
Allan Young - Friends of Mineralogy
Alternate: Nelson Shaffer

John W. France, P.E. - Geo-Institute of ASCE 
Alternate: Robert Schweinfurth
Jeff Rubin - Geological Society of America
Alternate: Kasey White
Nic Bilham - 
Geological Society of London
Marie Dvorzak - Geoscience Information Society
Leonard F. Konikow - International Association of Hydrogeologists
Janet Herman - Karst Waters Institute





Reginal Spiller - National Association of Black Geologists and Geophysicists
Wendi J. W. Williams - National Association of Geoscience Teachers
Alternate: Cathy Manduca
Michael Passow 
- National Earth Science Teachers Association
Lauren Schapker - National Ground Water Association
Hester Mallonee - National Speleological Society
Rick Fluegeman - North American Commission on Stratigraphic Nomenclature
Robert A. Gastaldo - The Botanical Society of America
William I. Ausich - Paleontological Society
Alternate: Steve Holland

Nan Broadbent - Seismological Society of America
Alternate: Elizabeth Duffy 

Howard E. Harper, Jr. - SEPM (Society for Sedimentary Geology)
Brian G. Hoal - Society of Economic Geologists
Alternate: Lawrence Meinert

Whitney Emerick - Society of Exploration Geophysicists
Alternate: Wayne D. Pennington
Patrick A. Nye - Society of Independent Professional Earth Scientists
Virgil W. Lueth - Society of Mineral Museum Professionals
Alternate: Penny Williamson

Hal Gluskoter- Society for Mining, Metallurgy and Exploration
Alternate: John Hayden
Peter Warwick - The Society for Organic Petrology
Ted J. Vlamis - Society of Vertebrate Paleontology
Jan Hopmans - Soil Science Society of America
Alternate: David Lindbo
Julie Brigham-Grette 
- US Permafrost Association