AGI Welcomes 2021 Board of Directors

PDF versionPDF version

ALEXANDRIA, Va. — The American Geosciences Institute (AGI) welcomes new members to the AGI Board of Directors (formerly the AGI Executive Committee) and congratulates Dr. David R. Wunsch as he takes office as AGI President. New and departing members of the Board of Directors are being recognized during the AGI Board of Directors meeting on October 23, 2020.

AGI welcomes the following members to their roles on the Board of Directors:
  • Dr. Paul Weimer (University of Colorado, Boulder) – President Elect
  • Dr. Gordon E. Brown Jr. (Stanford University, California) – Member at Large
  • Ms. Keri A. Nutter (DOWL Inc., Anchorage, Alaska) – Member at Large
  • Ms. Nancy J. House (IGII, LLC, Littleton, Colorado) – Secretary
The new AGI President, Dr. David R. Wunsch, previously AGI Executive Committee Secretary from 2002 to 2004, is the State Geologist and Director of the Delaware Geological Survey. Dr. Wunsch was the State Geologist of New Hampshire (2000-2010) and Director of Science & Technology (2010-2011) for the National Groundwater Association (NGWA). He has held leadership positions with the Association of American State Geologists (President 2009-2010) and NGWA (Division Director 2002-2005). As AGI's first Congressional Science Fellow (1998-1999), he advised the U.S. House Subcommittee on Energy & Minerals. Dr. Wunsch has served on National Academy of Science committees, and federal advisory committees for the U.S. Geological Survey. He holds an affiliated faculty position with the University of Delaware Department of Earth Sciences.
The new AGI President Elect, Dr. Paul Weimer, previously served as AGI Executive Committee Member at Large from 2018 to 2020. Dr. Weimer holds the Paul Rady Chair in the Department of Geological Sciences at the University of Colorado Boulder.
The new Secretary, Nancy J. House, has served as principal scientist in geophysics at her firm, Integrated Geophysical Interpretation, since 2015. She is an interpretation geophysicist with 35 years of experience with multinational oil companies and independents.
A new Member at Large, Dr. Gordon E. Brown Jr. is the D.W. Kirby Professor Emeritus of Geological Sciences at Stanford University and a Professor Emeritus at the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory. He received AGI's Ian Campbell Medal for Superlative Service to the Geosciences. 
Another Member at Large, Keri A. Nutter served as Secretary on the AGI Executive Committee as well as on the Wallace Scholarship committee. Nutter, a Certified Professional Geologist, is a firm owner and manager of a team of engineers and geologists at DOWL. 
Finally, AGI thanks its departing Board of Directors members for their dedication to AGI and its mission:
  • Rodney C. Ewing (Stanford University) – Past President
  • Anna C. Shaughnessy (Earth Resources Laboratory, MIT, retired) – Secretary
  • Jonathan D. Arthur (Florida Geological Survey) – Member at Large
Read the biographies of the new 2020-21 Board of Directors here, effective October 23.
About AGI
The American Geosciences Institute (AGI), a federation of scientific and professional associations representing over a quarter-million geoscientists, is a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to serving the geoscience community and addressing the needs of society. AGI headquarters are in Alexandria, Virginia.
Geoff Camphire, Communications