Education Awards

PDF versionPDF version

Mary Tykoski smiling, receiving the Ed Roy award from Sally Jewell, who is holding a microphone and speaking to an unseen crowd.
Laura Hatcher Photography, 2017

Edward C. Roy Jr. Award

This award is given annually to an elementary or middle school teacher who has demonstrated his or her ability to teach exemplary Earth science lessons. The award is given in honor of Dr. Edward C. Roy Jr., a longtime champion of Earth science education.

NAGT Outstanding Earth Science Teacher Award

The National Association of Geoscience Teacher’s (NAGT) award is given to precollege teachers who have made exceptional contributions to the stimulation of interest in the Earth sciences and who are outstanding teachers. AGI contributes teaching materials to awardees

AAPG National Earth Science Teacher of the Year Award

The American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG) National Earth Science Teacher of the Year Award program recognizes teachers who incorporate applied geology into their lesson plans. In support of this program, AGI provides instructional materials to awardees.

Education GeoSource: Teaching Awards

The geoscience education resources on this site come from a variety of providers. The site provides listings of professional resources including education reports, funding for science teachers, professional development opportunities, teaching awards, and much more.