Marcus Milling Legendary Geoscientist Medal

PDF versionPDF version

Submit a Nomination:

AGI Award Guide (PDF)
Submit a Support Letter

For consideration for the 2023 Award, please submit materials by February 1, 2023. Submissions received after this date will be saved for later consideration.

The Marcus Milling Legendary Geoscientist Medal is given to a recipient with consistent contributions of high-quality scientific achievements and service to the Earth sciences having lasting, historic value; who has been recognized for accomplishments in field(s) of expertise by professional societies, universities, or other organizations; and is a senior scientist nearing completion or has completed full-time regular employment. Prior to 2007 it had been called the AGI Legendary Geoscientist Award.


The candidate must be living at the time of selection and, if possible, should be present for presentation of the award.


Nominations may be submitted to AGI by individuals or Member Societies. Nominations forms should include a detailed description of the candidate's achievements as well as a 50-word candidate citation. Award selections will be made by the AGI President's Selection Committee and confirmed by the AGI Executive Committee.


Presentation of the award will be by the AGI Foundation Chair or his/her designee at an appropriate national society convention or meeting. In addition to receiving the award and citation, expenses will be covered for the awardee and spouse for reasonable travel and lodging to the place of presentation.


1999 J. David Love
2000 Konrad B. Krauskopf
2002 Michel T. Halbouty
2004 Peter R. Vail (spring)
2004 Norman D. Newell (fall)
2005 Gerald M. Friedman
2006 Robert J. Weimer
2007 William L. Fisher
2008 W. Gary Ernst
2010 William R. Muehlberger
2011 Robert H. Dott Jr.
2012 Sven Treitel
2013 John D. Bredehoeft
2014 Robert D. Hatcher Jr.
2015 Hiroo Kanamori
2016 Ernest A. Mancini 
2017 Susan W. Kieffer
2018 William A. Thomas
2019 Barbara A. Romanowicz
2020 Sharon Mosher
2021 Franklin W. Schwartz

2022 Donald I. Siegel

2023 Brian F. Atwater