New committee members in House and Senate

PDF versionPDF version

January 31, 2015

Congressional committees in both the Senate and the House of Representatives welcome new members and say farewell to others in the 114th Congress. Although Republicans have finalized the majority of their committee assignments, Democrats are still working to place members.

House Science, Space, and Technology (SST):

Lamar Smith (R-TX), Chair; Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), Ranking Member

New members: John Moolenaar (R-MI), Steve Knight (R-CA), Brian Babin (R-TX),
Bruce Westerman (R-AR), Barbara Comstock (R-VA), Dan Newhouse (R-WA), Gary Palmer (R-AL), and Barry Loudermilk (R-GA). The new Democratic members have not yet been announced.

House Natural Resources:

Rob Bishop (R-UT), Chair; Raul Grijalva (D-AZ), Ranking Member

New members: Bruce Westerman (R-AR), Garret Graves (R-LA), Dan Newhouse (R-WA), Ryan Zinke (R-MT), Jody Hice (R-GA), Amata Coleman Radewagen (R-AS), Tom MacArthur (R-NJ), Alex Mooney (R-WV), Cresent Hardy (R-NV), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Norma Torres (D-CA), Debbie Dingell (D-MI), and Mark Takai (D-HI)

House Appropriations:

Hal Rogers (R-KY), Chair; Nita Lowey (D-NY), Ranking Member

New members: Scott Rigell (R-VA), David Jolly (R-FL), David Young (R-IA), Evan Jenkins (R-WV), C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger (D-MD), and Derek Kilmer (D-WA)

Senate Energy and Natural Resources:

Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Chair; Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Ranking Member

New members: Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Cory Gardner (R-CO), Steve Daines (R-MT), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Mazie K. Hirono (D-HI), and Angus King (I-ME)

Senate Commerce, Science, and Transportation:

John Thune (R-SD), Chair; Bill Nelson (D-FL), Ranking Member

New members: Cory Gardner (R-CO), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Steve Daines (R-MT), Tom Udall (D-NM), Joe Manchin (D-WV), and Gary Peters (D-MI)

Senate Environment and Public Works:

James Inhofe (R-OK), Chair; Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Ranking Member

New members: Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), and Ed Markey (D-MA)

Senate Appropriations:

Thad Cochran (R-MS), Chair; Barbara Mikulski (D-MD), Ranking Member

New members: James Lankford (R-OK), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Steve Daines (R-MT), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), and Christopher Murphy (D-CT).

Sources: House of Representatives website, Senate website